Performance

image

Plan to be an orchestral musician or a freelance concert artist? Thinking of teaching at a college, university, conservatory, or your private studio? Then the Performance major is right for you.

The MMus in Performance is ideal if you are a BMus graduate from a performance program, and are seeking advanced training to prepare for a career as a professional performer or teacher.

Pre-formed string quartets may apply to the the NEW MMus in Performance—Emphasis String Quartet program.

Courses

The undergraduate major in performance gives you the maximum amount of time to practice and gain experience as a performer. You will perform in weekly master classes, ensembles, and the Integrated Performance Seminar or IPS. IPS is a unique format in which students perform in small groups coached by a different faculty member each week.

Note: There is a separate audition to be admitted to the Performance major. This audition normally happens at the end of the first or second year of the Bachelor’s program.

The graduate program leads to a Master of Music in Performance. It is designed to further your growth as a soloist and ensemble participant. In addition to performance-related courses, the program includes study in theory, conducting, performance practices, and music history.


Concerts

Our annual Concerto Concert features student performers as soloists with the University Orchestra. All undergraduate Performance majors present a full evening recital in fourth year, and should expect to appear frequently in student recitals during their four years of study.

MMus candidates perform a final graduating recital and are expected to participate in ensembles where appropriate to their instrument in each year of their residency. Placement in large and small ensembles will be made according to the student’s needs and the needs of the School of Music.

Faculty

Woodwinds

clanton

Wendell Clanton
B.Mus. (UVic), B.Ed. (UVic), M.Mus. (Northwestern)
Music Performance Instructor, saxophone

Patricia Kostek
B.Sc. (Mansfield State Coll.), M.M. (Mich. State)
Professor, clarinet
pkostek@uvic.ca

 

Alexandra Pohran Dawkins
B.Mus. (Toronto)
Associate Professor, oboe
apohran@uvic.ca



Suzanne Snizek
B.M. (Indiana), M.M.(Philadelphia), DMA (UBC)
Assistant Professor, flute

suzanne.snizek@gmail.com
Flute studio blog

Jenny Gunter
B.Mus. (Eastman), M.Mus (Rice)
Music Performance Instructor, bassoon
jennygunter@yahoo.com

Brass

Paul Beauchesne
B.Mus. (UVic), MMus (U of New Mexico)
Music Performance Instructor, Low brass
pcbeau1@telus.net

Kurt Kellan
Associate Professor, horn
kkellan@uvic.ca

Scott MacInnes
B.Mus. (Toronto), M.Mus. (U. of Vic.)
Music Performance Instructor, trombone
mactrombone@gmail.com

Merrie Klazek
B.Mus. (Calgary), M.Mus. (Northwestern)
Assistant Professor, trumpet
merrieklazek@uvic.ca

   

Strings

 


Ann Elliott-Goldschmid
B.M. (Boston)
Artist-in-Residence, violin
aelliott@finearts.uvic.ca

Pamela Highbaugh Aloni
M.M. (Indiana), BMUS, California State University, Northridge
Artist-in-Residence, cello
phighbau@uvic.ca

Joanna Hood
San Francisco Conservatory of Music (B.M.) Indiana University School of Music in Bloomington (M.M.)
Artist-in-Residence, viola
ojdooh@uvic.ca

Sharon Stanis
M.M. (Indiana)
Artist-in-Residence, violin
sstanis@shaw.ca

Alex Olson
B.Mus. (Manhattan)
Music Performance Instructor, double bass
alexolson@hotmail.com
Double Bass

Piano

May Ling Kwok
B.Mus. (U. of Vic), M.M. (Indiana)
Music Performance Instructor
mlkwok@uvic.ca

Michelle Mares
B.A. (Mozarteum, Salzburg)
Music Performance Instructor
michellemares@hotmail.com

Arthur Rowe
B.M. (W. Ont.), M.M. (Indiana)
Professor
artrow@uvic.ca

Eva Solar-Kinderman
Perf.Dip. (Vienna)
Music Performance Instructor
esolar@uvic.ca

Bruce Vogt
A.R.C.T. (Toronto), B.Mus. (W.Ont.), M.Mus. (Toronto)
Professor
bvogt@uvic.ca

Voice

Benjamin Butterfield
Lic. MUS (McGill)
Assistant Professor
benjamin@uvic.ca

  Anne Grimm
Music Performance Instructor
annecgrimm@yahoo.ca
Voice

Susan Young
B.A. (Brigham Young), M.Mus. (Calgary)
Senior Instructor
syoungsoprano@shaw.ca

Guitar & Percussion

Alexander Dunn
B.M.,M.M.(San Fr Guitar ran. Cons.), Ph.D. (Calif., San Diego)
Music Performance Instructor
adunn@uvic.ca

Bill Linwood
B.Mus. (Indiana University)
Music Performance Instructor
wlinwood@uvic.ca



space
Facebook Twitter Facebook youtube