Faculty & Staff

Faculty
Pamela Highbaugh Aloni
M.M. (Indiana), B.Mus. (Cal State, Northridge)
Artist-in-Residence
phighbau@uvic.ca
Cello, Lafayette String Quartet, Co-Head of Performance
Paul Beauchesne
B.Mus. (UVic), MMus (U of New Mexico)
Music Performance Instructor
pcbeau1@telus.net
Low Brass

Dániel Péter Biró
M.F.A. (Musik. Wurzburg), M.F.A. (Musik. Frankfurt), Ph.D. (Princeton)
Associate Professor
dpbiro@uvic.ca
Composition, Music Theory

Anita Bonkowski
B.Mus., M.Mus. (UVic)
Sessional Lecturer
abmusico@telus.net
Theory, Orchestration, Music Appreciation
Patrick Boyle
B.M. (Memorial), M.A. (York), D.M.A. (Toronto)
Associate Professor
pboyle@uvic.ca
Jazz Orchestra, Jazz Studies
Benjamin Butterfield
Lic. Mus. (McGill)
Professor
benjamin@uvic.ca
Voice, Opera, Head of Voice
Christopher Butterfield
B.Mus. (UVic), M.A. (S.U.N.Y.Stony Brook)
Director, Associate Professor
cbutterf@uvic.ca
Composition, Theory, Head of Composition

John Celona
B.M., M.A. (San Fran. St.), Ph.D. (Calif., San Diego)
Professor
celona@uvic.ca
Composition, Computer Music, Music Theory


Wendell Clanton
B.Mus. (UVic), B.Ed. (UVic), M.Mus. (Northwestern)
Music Performance Instructor
wendellclanton@hotmail.com
Saxophone, Vocal Jazz
David Clenman
Sessional Lecturer
dclenman@uvic.ca
Theory, Aural Skills
 Adam Con
B.Mus., M.Mus. (UBC), Ph.D. (Florida State)
Associate Professor
Music Education, Chorus
 Ajtony Csaba
M.A. (Vienna)
Assistant Professor
acsaba@uvic.ca
Orchestra, Conducting

Alexander Dunn
B.Mus., M.Mus.(San Fr Guitar ran. Cons.), Ph.D. (Calif., San Diego)
Music Performance Instructor
adunn@uvic.ca
Music Performance Instructor, Theory
Colleen Eccleston
B.F.A. (UVic)
Sessional Lecturer
skog@uvic.ca
Songwriting, Popular Music
Ann Elliott-Goldschmid
B.M. (Boston)
Artist-in-Residence
aelliott@finearts.uvic.ca
Violin, Lafayette String Quartet
Anne Grimm
Music Performance Instructor
a33grimm@gmail.com
Voice
Jenny Gunter
B.Mus. (Eastman), M.Mus. (Rice)
Music Performance Instructor
jennygunter@yahoo.com
Bassoon
Jordan Hanson
B.Sc. (Dalhousie)
Sessional Lecturer
drumrhythms@hotmail.com
African Hand Drumming
Joanna Hood
B.M. (San Francisco Conservatory), M.M. (Indiana, Bloomington)
Artist-in-Residence
ojdooh@uvic.ca
Viola, Lafayette String Quartet
Michael Keddy
B.Mus., B.Ed. (Westest), M.Mus. (Manitoba), Ph.D. (UVic)
Sessional Lecturer
mkeddy@uvic.ca
Don Wright Sypmonic Winds
 Kurt Kellan
Associate Professor
kkellan@uvic.ca
Horn (on leave July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

Gerald King
B.M. (UBC), M.M. (West. Wash.) Ed.D. (B.Y.U)
Professor
gking@uvic.ca
Music Education, University Wind Symphony (Conductor)
(on leave July 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017)
Merrie Klazek
B.Mus. (Calgary), M.Mus. (Northwestern)
Assistant Professor
merrieklazek@uvic.ca
Trumpet, Brass Chamber, Aural Skills


Patricia Kostek
B.Sc. (Mansfield State Coll.), M.M. (Mich. State)
Professor
pkostek@uvic.ca
Clarinet, Chamber Music, Graduate Advisor in Music
Harald M. Krebs
B.Mus. (Brit. Col.) M.Phil., Ph.D. (Yale)
Professor
hkrebs@uvic.ca
Theory, Head of Theory Program


May Ling Kwok
B.Mus. (UVic), M.Mus. (Indiana)
Music Performance Instructor
mlkwok@uvic.ca
Piano
 Susan Lewis
B.A., B.Mus. (Queen's), M.M. (Arizona), M.F.A., Ph.D. (Princeton)
Dean of Fine Arts, Professor
sglewis@uvic.ca
Music History, Musicology
Bill Linwood
B.Mus. (Indiana University)
Music Performance Instructor
wlinwood@uvic.ca
Percussion, Percussion Ensemble
Kirk McNally
Kirk McNally
B.Mus., M.Sc. (McGill)
Assistant Professor
kmcnally@uvic.ca
Recording Techniques, Music Technology, Sound Recording
Scott MacInnes
B.Mus. (Toronto), M.Mus. (UVic)
Music Performance Instructor
mactrombone@gmail.com
Trombone
Michael Mazza
B.Mus. (UVic), M.Ed. (Simon Fraser)
Sessional Lecturer
michaelmazza@fastmail.fm
Music Education
Alex Olson
B.Mus. (Manhattan School of Music)
Music Performance Instructor
alexolson@hotmail.com
Bass
Elissa Poole
B.A. (Penn. State), M.A., Ph.D. (UVic)
Sessional Lecturer
elissa.poole@saltspring.com
Music History
Arthur Rowe
B.M. (W. Ont.), M.M. (Indiana)
Professor
artrow@uvic.ca
Piano
Joseph Salem
B.Mus. (Texas), M.A. (Wisconsin), Ph.D. (Yale)
Assistant Professor
salemjr@uvic.ca
Music History, Musicology, Theory
W. Andrew Schloss
B.A. (Bennington Coll.), Ph.D. (Stanford)
Professor
aschloss@uvic.ca
Electronic & Computer Music Studios, Musical Acoustics, Ethnomusicology
(on leave January 1, 2017 - June 30, 2017)


Suzanne Snizek
B.M. (Indiana), M.M.(Philadelphia), D.M.A. (UBC)
Assistant Professor

ssnizek@uvic.ca
Flute, Woodwind Chamber Music, Music History
(on leave July 1, 2016 - December 31, 2016)
Eva Solar-Kinderman
Perf.Dip. (Vienna)
Music Performance Instructor
esolar@uvic.ca
Piano
Sharon Stanis
M.M. (Indiana)
Artist-in-Residence
sstanis@shaw.ca
Violin, Lafayette String Quartet
Dr. Kinza Tyrrell
Principal Repetiteur- Vancouver Opera
Music Director-VOIS
cell: 604-230-2903
kinzatyrrell@yahoo.ca
Bruce Vogt
A.R.C.T. (Toronto), B.Mus. (Western), M.Mus. (Toronto)
Professor
bvogt@uvic.ca
Piano, History of Keyboard Music, 19th-Century Performance Practices
 Susan Young
B.A. (Brigham Young), M.Mus. (Calgary)
Assistant Teaching Professor
findsyoung@gmail.com
Voice, Opera, Chamber Singers, Aural Skills

 

Visiting, Adjunct & Cross-listed Appointments
Peter Driessen
B.Sc., Ph.D. (UBC)
Cross-Listed Professor - ECE
peter@ece.uvic.ca
Recording Techniques
  Gary Garritan
BA, MSc (SUNY), JD (Touro College of Law, NY)
Adjunct Faculty
Music Technology
Gordon Mumma
Adjunct Faculty
gordonmumma@yahoo.com
Composition
Personal website: brainwashed.com/mumma
Colin Tilney
B.A., M.Mus. (King's College)
Adjunct Faculty
ctilney@shaw.ca
Harpsichord, keyboard literature

 

Administrative and Academic Professionals
 Kristy Farkas
B.Mus. (Wilfrid Laurier), M.Mus. (UVic)
Concert & Publicity Manager
kfarkas@uvic.ca

Regan Livingstone
B.Mus.(Mus.Ed)/B.Ed. (UofS), M.Ed. (UVic)
Music Education Resource Room
musiced@uvic.ca

Jill Michalski
Administrative Officer
michalsk@uvic.ca


Alexis Ramsdale
B.Mus. (UVic)
Administrative Assistant
music@uvic.ca

Linda Sheldon
B.A. (UVic)
Administrative Assistant & Graduate Secretary
musi@uvic.ca

 

Professor Emeritus
Alexandra Pohran Dawkins
B.Mus. (Toronto)
Associate Professor Emeritus
apohran@uvic.ca
Oboe, Head of Woodwinds and Woodwind Chamber Music, 20th & 21st Century Improvisation Techniques
 Alexandra Browning Moore
B.Mus. (UBC), Associate Diploma (Toronto Cons.)
Professor Emeritus
Voice, Opera
George Corwin
B.S. (Ithaca), M.A., D.M.A. (Roch.)
Professor Emeritus
Conducting
 Michelle Fillion
B.A. (Montréal), B.Mus. (McGill), M.A., Ph.D. (Cornell)
Professor Emeritus
mfillion@uvic.ca
Music History, Musicology, Theory, Head of Musicology
Mary Kennedy
B.Mus, M.Ed. (UVic), Ph.D. (Wash)
Music Performance Instructors & Sessional Lecturer
makenn@uvic.ca
Music Education
Michael Longton
B.Mus., M.Mus. (UBC)
Professor Emeritus
mlongton@uvic.ca
Music Theory


Ian McDougall
B.Mus., M.Mus. (UBC)
Professor Emeritus
imcdoug@uvic.ca
Trombone, Jazz Studies
Personal website: www.ianmcdougall.com

Bruce E. More
B.Mus. (UBC), M.Mus., M.M.A., D.M.A. (Yale)
Professor Emeritus
bmore@uvic.ca
Lanny Pollet
B.Mus. (Eastman), M.Mus. (UVic)
Professor Emeritus
lpollet@uvic.ca
Flute, Orchestration
Louis Ranger
B.Mus. (Juilliard)
Professor Emeritus
lranger@uvic.ca
Trumpet, Chamber Music, Co-Head of performance

 



space FacebookTwitterFacebookyoutubeyoutube