School of Music Faculty of Fine Arts University of Victoria





University of Victoria School of

Music



One Ring to Rule Them All

Dr. Gerald King, Conductor David P. Gagnon, Graduate Assistant Conductor

Friday, February 6, 2015 • 8:00 p.m.

University Centre Farquhar Auditorium University of Victoria Adults \$15 / Students & Seniors \$10

Symphony No. 1:The Lord of the Rings I. Gandalf [The Wizard] II. Lothlórien [The Elvenwood] III. Gollum [Sméagol] IV. Journey in the Dark a.The Mines of Moria b.The Bridge of Khazad-Dum V. Hobbits

Intermission

Jason and the Golden Fleece

I. Jason and the Argonauts

UVic Trombone Choir Scott MacInnes, Conductor

Sheltering Sky

John Mackey

Salvation is Created

Pavel Tschesnokoff

David P. Gagnon, Conductor

Prairie, Ride, and Sunset

John Estacio

David P. Gagnon, Conductor

Elizabeth Raum

Johan de Meij

UVIC WIND SYMPHONY PERSONNEL

PICCOLO Cooper Reed

FLUTE

- I Sierra Phosy*Jillian BroughtonII Bailey Finley
- Monica Mun

OBOE

Theresa Mothersill Allison Phillips

ENGLISH HORN Allison Phillips

Eb CLARINET

Erin Onyschtschuk

CLARINET

- I Marcella Barz* Samuel He
- II James Yi Sunny Chu William Constable
- III Mark Kim Jynelle Grigg Alina Liang ‡

BASS CLARINET

Kylie Flower

CONTRA BASS Adam Jasieniuk

BASSOON Lee Whitehorne

SOPRANO SAXOPHONE Austin Nicholl

ALTO SAXOPHONE I Sean Maynard* II Austin Nicholl

TENOR SAXOPHONE Julian Malinowski

BARITONE SAXOPHONE Matthew Bell

CORNET/ TRUMPET

Matthew Maclean* Justin Bury Alex White Emily McDermid John Hamblett Jordan Smale

FRENCH HORN

I Samuel McNally* II Drake Lovett III Simon Dawkins IV John Millsip

TROMBONE

- I Eric Showers*
- II Owen Worby
- III Zachary Power ‡

BASS TROMBONE Zoe McLaren

EUPHONIUM

Jaclyn Kreke* Kevin Gavaghan

TUBA Dayna Waller*

DOUBLE BASS

Blake Palm

PERCUSSION

Erika Buerfeind* Allyssa Haigh* Julia Albano-Crockford David Lochead Tamara Nemeth William Exner

TIMPANI

Tristan Holleufer*

PIANO James Yi

* Principal ‡ Lord of the Rings

TROMBONE CHOIR

Scott MacInnes, Conductor

Trombones: Brandon Chaplin, Liam Caveney, Owen Worby, Zachary Power, Josh Yates, Eric Showers, Trevor Hoy, Zoe McLaren

Percussion: Allyssa Haigh, Julian Albano-Crockford

Timpani: Tristan Holleufer



Music www.finearts.uvic.ca/music/events