Art History and Visual Studies Faculty & Staff

Faculty
Allan Antliff
B.A. (Waterloo), M.A. (Queen's), M.A. & Ph.D. (Delaware)
Associate Professor in Modern American and European art, Contemporary art, Anarchist studies
Evanthia Baboula
Ptychion (B.A. Athens), M.Phil, D.Phil. (Oxford) Archaeology
Assistant Professor in Material & Visual Cultures, Northeast Mediterranean

Melia Belli Bose
B.A., M.A. & Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Asian Art
Carolyn Butler-Palmer
B.A. (Carleton), Dipl. Art History (UBC), M.S. (Utah), M.A. & Ph.D. (Pittsburgh)
Williams Legacy Chair, Associate Professor in Modern and Contemporary arts of the Pacific Northwest

Erin Campbell
B.A., M.A. & Ph.D. (Toronto)
Department Chair; Associate Professor in Early Modern European art

Catherine Harding
B.A. (McGill), M.A., Ph.D. (London)
Associate Professor in Late Medieval and Early Renaissance art

Lianne McLarty
B.A. (Brock), M.A. (Carleton), Ph.D. (SFU)
Associate Professor in Feminist film theory, ctirical theory, popular culture
Marcus Milwright
M.A. (Edinburgh), D.Phil. (Oxford)
Professor in Medieval Islamic Art and Archaeology
Astri Wright
Cand. Mag. (Oslo), B.A., M.A., Ph.D. (Cornell)
Professor in Southeast Asian art (including textiles, ephemeral arts), modern and contemporary arts

  Victoria Wyatt
B.A. (Kenyon), M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D. ( Yale)
Associate Professor in North American Native arts and ethnohistorical photographs

 

Affiliated and Adjunct Faculty Members
  Martha Black
mblack@royalbcmuseum.bc.ca
B.A. (Toronto), M.A. (York), Ph.D. (UVic)
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Native Northwest Arts
  Joy Davis
joydavis@uvcs.uvic.ca
B.A. (UVic), M.A. (Toronto)
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Cultural Resource Management
Erica Dodd
edodd@uvic.ca
B.A. (Wellesley), Ph.D. (Courtauld Inst, London)
Adjunct Associate Professor of Islamic Art and Architecture
  Kathlyn Liscomb
kliscomb@finearts.uvic.ca
M.A., Ph.D. (U. of Chicago)
Professor Emerita of Chinese Art, Art Theory, and Historiography
  Gillian Mackie
gmackie@finearts.uvic.ca
B.A., M.A. (Oxon.), B.A., M.A., Ph.D. (UVic)
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Medieval Art
  Judith Patt
japatt@shaw.ca
B.A. (Stan.), M.A., Ph.D. (U.of Cal., Berkeley)
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Southeast Asian art and architecture

  Martin Segger
msegger@uvic.ca
B.A., Dip. Ed. (UVic.), M. Phil. (Warburg, London)
Adjunct Professor of Canadian art and architecture
Christopher Thomas
B.A. (York), M.A. (Toronto), Ph.D. (Yale)
Associate Professor Emeritus of Canadian art and architecture, modern architecture
  Elizabeth Tumasonis
btumasonis@shaw.ca
B.A. (William and Mary), M.A. (N.Y.U.), Ph.D. (Berkeley)
Associate Professor Emerita of European and North American art and architecture of the 19th and 20th centuries
Anthony Welch
B.A. (Swarthmore), M.A., Ph.D. (Harvard)
Professor Emeritus in Islamic art and architecture; Iranian painting; architecture of Muslim India

 

Sessional Instructors & Fellows
 Melissa Berry
mbberry@uvic.ca
B.F.A. (Lethbridge), M.A. (Courtauld Inst, London), Ph.D. (UVic)
Dennine Dudley
ddudley@uvic.ca
B.A., M.A., Ph.D. (UVic)
Mitch Parry
mparry@uvic.ca
B.A., M.A. (Western Ontario)
Menno Hubregtse
menno@uvic.ca
M.A. (UVic) Ph.D. (UBC)

 

Staff
Sandra Curran Graduate Secretary arthistory@uvic.ca 250-721-7942
Clare Lannan Administrative Assistant ahvsasst@uvic.ca 250-721-7942
Iona Hubner Visual Resources Curator ihubner@uvic.ca 250-721-7946